Defining Digital Literacy

What is literacy?
The definition of literacy has evolved from “the ability to read and use
printed materials at an extremely basic level” to “using printed and
written information to function in society, to achieve one’s goals and to
develop one’s knowledge and potential” (2003 National Assessment of Adult
Literacy).

What is digital literacy?

As digital media become more important for communication, critical thinking and
creativity it is imperative for our students to be digitally literate. Digital
literacies imbricate with traditional literacies and require the ability to
locate, assess, modify, remix and create with a variety of media forms.
Students should understand the many unique rhetorics of new media types and be
able to express their ideas and communicate in an increasingly open and
collaborative digital world part of being digitally illiterate is knowing how to stay safe, while online.

There is a noted difference between these two definitions. Literacy in and of itself, has to do with reading and understanding printed material so that a person can function in society and, scratch that, and accomplished the activities associated with daily living , that indirectly involved literacy, such as reading Street signs, interpreting maps , and even avoiding areas that are either in disrepair , or are unsafe as in the case of a sign that says out of order, on the bathroom stalldoor that says out of order, or as orange traffic cone, which indicates danger on the road ahead and is not a written or spoken warning. There is an additional element to digital literacy, in that for those who are digitally literate, there is the expectation of resourcefulness – of doing without knowing . But more than that it is the expectation of the creation of new things. Whether that be in the medium of video, images, designed, or the written word it doesn’t matter . Moreover, the person who is know considered literate has changed. It’s no longer the wealthy, and elite, but the young and modern; who are the most literate.

For more information on digital literacy add  link here   or look at video

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara Gray
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:46:07

    The text is on a white screen so it makes it easy to read. But at the same time a lot of people are attracted to visuals and colors so, I think that you should maybe change your theme so that you will have the ability to add more color and make people want to continue to read what you have to say. I like how you used the definition of digital literacy and compared it to what you think digital literacy is. This is a very good and informative piece on digital literacy. You defined it very well and I liked how you compared literacy to digital literacy so that the reader knows the difference between the two. The only thing that you are really missing is a picture and a video link but overall I think you off to a good start.

    Reply

  2. nataliepayan28
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 02:15:40

    Hello MariaFirstBlog! I personally admire this blog as it really shows that a.) You did your research, and b.) You know what you’re discussing within the post. I love how you put everything in order to allow the readers to process what they are looking at one post at a time. I also love how you explain what digital literacy means in such an affective manner. The only thing I would really recommend is for you to show more visuals. I feel that with more videos you could really elaborate your point. But, besides that, way to get viewers attention! I’d give it an A for sure! 

    Reply

    • mariafirstblog
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 21:37:40

      Hey Natalie it’s Maria. I’m glad that you find my blog to be useful, and that everything was written in a way that made the information understandable to readers. I am very grateful that the work I put into my blog is evident to those who read it. Moreover, I will be sure to take your suggestion of adding more images into consideration, for this, as well as for future posts. I appreciate you letting me know of your suggestions, while there is still time for me to make additions to the post. Thank you very much, I hope you had a very nice day.

      Reply

  3. desanjurjo
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 23:37:09

    It’s amazing how the definition of digital literacy has changed overtime, and I suppose will continue to change as technology advances. Great illustration; really helps to connect the text.

    Reply

    • mariafirstblog
      Dec 17, 2011 @ 18:28:30

      Hello I agree with you that the definition of digital literacy will continue to change with the times, however I think the core of this definition will always remain the same. It is my belief that any type of literacy has to do with the fundamental element of understanding. I’m glad you found the illustration helpful. It’s always nice to hear when someone enjoys the work. As always thank you for your comments and suggestions for improving this blog. I hope you have a nice day.

      Reply

Leave a comment